Do you even lift?

Something I just recently learned is that unless you\n have a bag of holding or a way to store your goods, you carry everything. Yeah. That’s pretty logical. But it just didn’t dawn on me how much all this stuff we’d be collecting would bring me down.

And so I learned the word encumbrance.

Yes. Yes. Encumbrance.

What’s the defenition and what does it actually mean? According to Google:

en·cum·brance
/inˈkəmb(ə)rəns,enˈkəmb(ə)rəns/
noun
  1. a burden or impediment

This means that even though you’re a weapons fanatic who likes all the fun sharp pointy objects, you can only carry so many before it slows you down.

According to the handbook:

Which means that your normal speed of 30 drops to 10!!! And you get disadvantage on ability checks, attack rolls, and saving throws.

(Honestly, whether your DM/GM uses this rule is up to them. Ours doesn’t but he very well may if Connack the Barbarian keeps adding shiny things to his collection) I actually learned this while using the Squire app. I put in all the items he carries and his walkng speed dropped from 45 to 20. I told this to my GM and he laughed.

Anyway,

I hope this was somewhat insightful.

Hope you have an awesome day!

Let the dice roll!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started